A Great Beauty – A. O'Connor

003-178199-737-6

New product

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF A TELEGRAM FROM BERLIN

€9.99

More info

It is 1920 and, as the War of Independence rages throughout Ireland, Michael Collins is the most wanted man in the British Empire. He lives a life in hiding, conducting guerrilla warfare, outsmarting the authorities, a figure of mystery and intrigue. Very few know even what he looks like. He occasionally finds rest and comfort with the family of Kitty Kiernan, his best friend’s sweetheart. Then Michael finds himself falling in love with the complex and enigmatic Kitty. Lady Hazel Lavery, wife of famous artist Sir John Lavery, is considered the most beautiful and charming society hostess in London. An American of Irish descent, haunted by a tragic past, she sets out to use her friendships with men like Winston Churchill to bring peace to Ireland. When Michael, recently engaged to Kitty, arrives in London as part of the Irish peace delegation, he finds himself the centre of intense public fascination. Hazel Lavery takes Michael under her wing and navigates him through London high society. They form a close bond and soon are engulfed in rumours of an affair and accusations that Michael has been seduced by the glamour of London and by Hazel. Kitty all but despairs at the situation but is determined to fight for him. After the infamous Anglo-Irish Treaty, Ireland veers towards civil war. As Michael, Hazel and Kitty arrive in Dublin that fateful week in August 1922, the war is at its zenith – and this love triangle is about to implode with devastating results.

Reviews

Write a review

A Great Beauty – A. O'Connor

A Great Beauty – A. O'Connor

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF A TELEGRAM FROM BERLIN

Related Products

FROM THE AUTHOR OF KILBRIDE HOUSE AND THE SECRET OF EVELINE HOUSE

€9.99

'Fans of Catherine Cookson and Helen Forrester will love this.'

SHORTLISTED FOR Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year 2021 IRISH BOOK AWARDS 'Gripping, vivid, and very, very entertaining. I loved it.’ Roddy Doyle 'A star of fantasy fiction'. Eoin Colfer Inspired by Bram Stoker’s mother Charlotte Thornley, and her incredible eyewitness account of the Cholera epidemic in Ireland. Many believe that Charlotte Thornley...

€8.99

‘An excellent and original voice, with shades of Neil Gaiman and Lemony Snicket’ Eoin Colfer

€8.99

“When a high-pitched scream perforated my peace at the National Botanic Gardens in Dublin it seemed that it was not only audible but almost visible. It was as though the sound had made the light there vibrate – as though the plants and trees were altered by it.”

€9.99

From the author of Echos of Grace and GabriellaFAME IS A FUNNY THING... THE WHOLE WORLD KNOWS YOUR NAME BUT NO ONE REALLY KNOWS YOU

€9.99

Top